KEY TO THE CITY - USA City Directory Top USA City Resource Guide

US Facts
Footsteps of
It Happened Here
Mottos, Slogans
and Nicknames
Noted Notables


State of Alaska


Alaska Boroughs
Geographic Areas

The Boroughs of Alaska

Aleutians East Borough, Aleutians West Census Area, Anchorage Borough

Bethel Census Area, Bristol Bay Borough

Denali Borough, Dillingham Census Area

Fairbanks North Star Borough

Haines Borough, Hoonah-Angoon Census Area,

Juneau Borough

Kenai Peninsula Borough, Ketchikan Gateway Borough, Kodiak Island Borough

Lake and Peninsula Borough

Matanuska-Susitna Borough

Nome Census Area, North Slope Borough, Northwest Arctic Borough

'Prince of Wales-Outer Ketchikan Census Area

Sitka Borough, Skagway Borough, Southeast Fairbanks Census Area

Valdez-Cordova Census Area

Wade Hampton Census Area, Wrangell-Petersburg Census Area

Yakutat Borough, Yukon-Koyukuk Census Area

NOTE: Local areas in 48 of the states are known as a County. In only two states is this designation different. In Louisiana, they are known as a Parish. In Alaska, they are known as a Borough. Much of the more densely populated parts of the state are divided into boroughs, which function in a manner similar to counties in other states. However, uniquely, boroughs do not cover the entire land area of the state. The area of Alaska not part of any borough is referred to as the unorganized borough.

For the 1970 Census, the government of Alaska and the U.S. Census Bureau divided the unorganized borough into census areas. However, these areas exist solely for the purposes of statistical analysis and presentation. They have no government of their own. There are services provided by borough governments that are provided directly by the Alaska state government in the unorganized borough.

Return to Top

Geographic Area

Link to information about all Boroughs and Census Areas of Alaska. More information on the boroughs and census areas of Alaska

Alaska has 17 boroughs which also includes unified municipalities ( when a borough and all cities within it unite with one governmental unit such as in Anchorage, Juneau and Sitka). As of 2010 there are 149 incorporated cities and 246 federally recognized tribal governments and one federal Indian reservation. There are also 11 census areas which basically have no central government.


Return to Top

Search Key to the City or anywhere on the web

Search Key to the City
Custom Search
or Search anywhere on the Web
Custom Search

Return to the Alaska Page

Choose a new state on the States page

Return to the Top USA City Resource Guide and Cities Directory - Key to the City home page

Thanks for visiting Key to the City. We hope you will visit again soon. We'll leave the light on for you!!

This page was updated on 11 June 2011 at 8:58 pm

This page, and all contents, are Copyright (C) by Key to the City., Norco, California, USA.